A rough week….with a great surprise!!!

Alright… I just have to say…and I am going to say it out loud…. I HATE HALLOWEEN! I truly dislike everything about it… from the ridiculously expensive costumes (and I have 3 boys, so it can get costly), to parties, to horror shows, trick or treating and the candy. Now let’s just talk about CANDY!! I am a sugar-aholic.  I love sweet things, and at Halloween there are so many delicious little morsels of sweetness that I just want to consume.  Now obviously KETO does not suggest consuming sugar is following this WOE because they are processed sugars and of course CARBS, so this week has been rough.

On October 31st, I took my 2 youngest kids (my oldest went with his friends) Trick or Treating, and let me say that they got an INSANE amount of candy. The haul included almost 200 bags of chips, 16 full sized chocolate bars, 3 full sized cans of pop and half a superstore green bin of mini chocolate bars and other candy.  I am ecstatic to say that I have not gone crazy with the candy.  I have eaten 2 small chocolate bars and a piece of candy since Halloween and stayed within my macros for the day.  I say WIN-WIN….and you know what… I have to truly say that I am not missing the candy, nor am I craving it.  These sugar cravings are gone since I started KETOing.

I diligently tracked my macros this week because my husband and I decided that we were going to go out for a SUSHI supper on Saturday night.  I know this would completely kick me out of ketosis, but I really don’t care.  I have to live, and I feel that I can enjoy these things if I plan accordingly.  This would be the first time eating out since I started this KETO woe, so when I woke up Saturday morning I was a bit apprehensive.  What if it kicks my cravings back?  What if all my hard work is ruined?   These questions raced through my head.  I expressed them to my husband and he told me I should weigh myself to see the progress that I have made.  I haven’t stepped on the scale since September, but as I mentioned in my previous post, I know things are changing because my clothes are fitting way differently. So I hesitantly get on the scale and WOWZA…. I was pleasantly surprised to see 20 pounds gone.  a

Source:  https://gph.is/1hcIGyE

So my husband and I went and enjoyed Sushi and a date night at our favorite sushi place.  It was really great to go out, but I really am suffering now.  I am back suffering from the KETO flu. Headache and nauseous.  Not as bad as the first time around, but I am really not enjoying this.  Hopefully this horrible feeling will subside quickly. My plan after Sushi was to eat extremely high fat, extremely low protein and absolutely now carbs. Hopefully this will kick me back into ketosis quickly…. stay tuned.

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “A rough week….with a great surprise!!!

  1. Halloween is so hard! So much junk food around for the entire month it seems. My kids were just obsessed with it and it was driving me insane! It is fun for them but I am in the same boat as you I am not a fan of Halloween. I hope you enjoyed your sushi date! I think it is important for you to still be able to do those types of things! Looks like your journey is going great so far! Keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. Couldn’t agree more! We have to live and enjoy ourselves – we are only given this one life and it flies by. Congratulations on your weight loss too. How are you finding you’re feeling overall? Is this a long term plan or is it more of a short term “kick start”? I’m super interested in your journey as I didn’t know anything about this type of plan before. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your journey.

    Like

  3. Congratulations on your weight loss!! You have accomplished so much and in such a short amount of time! Also, Halloween is an extremely challenging time! With all the chocolate and chips being brought into our homes, it is very tempting to dig in! Congrats on everything you have discovered and accomplished thus far!

    Like

  4. Wow great job on your keto journey! I know the feeling of wondering if a little treat will break the stretch of good eating. Good for you for taking a break from the diet plan, I think thats important.
    PS I HATE Halloween too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

