KETO whilst sick…. is no laughing matter!

Ok, so this week has not gone as planned.  I had the ‘not so pleasure’ of getting sick.

Sick Ferris Buellers Day Off GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

SOURCE: giphy.com

Let me tell you that when one is ill, remaining KETO is very difficult.

Think about when you get sick…. what are the things that make you feel better?

  1. Chicken Noodle Soup
  2. Toast
  3. Soda Crackers
  4. Juice
  5. Tea with lemon and honey
  6. Halls
  7. NyQuil

All these items have carbs, carbs, carbs, with a side of carbs in them. So it was extremely difficult to stay on track.  What also happens when you are ill is that you lie around….and THINK a lot, which doesn’t help the “feeling sorry for yourself” attitude that has developed.

So then I started to question…. is it worth staying in ketosis whilst ill?? I thought and thought about this and came to the conclusion that it was.  I suffered last week and shared on my blog about how getting back into ketosis after my sushi supper was so awful, and seriously it is NOT worth it again. No thanks…no way. I will just deal with this.

I had a lot of time to surf the net and found some great sites to support people living a KETO woe and getting sick. I found this blog post, from someone discussing similar issues to mine.

I also discovered bone broth.  Now let me tell you, it is the most fantastic discovery that I have made. I have made homemade soup before, but always seem to add a lot of “stuff” into the soup, which makes it not very KETO friendly. I then found this video, and decided to make it.

My broth ended up being devine, and seriously I sipped this stuff for several days while laying in bed.  While sipping, continuing to think about this bone broth, and where I could enjoy this within the city.  I have (prior to KETO) frequented PHOmilu in Regina, and wondered if their broth was KETO friendly.  Wondering, I made a phone call and asked  some questions:

  1. How do you make your PHO broth?
  2. Are there any added sugars or carbohydrates in your broth?
  3. What are the main ingredients in your broth?
  4. How long does your broth cook before it is served?
  5. Do you sell just your broth (without any added noodles, or vegetables inside)?

I was very happy to receive all the KETO friendly answers to my questions.

2065 Prince of Wales Drive East

I am starting to realize the importance of asking questions to meet my needs, and how lovely people truly are in giving information out. If ever you are in need of some delicious soup, or food in general, PHOmilu is where it’s at. They have 2 locations, one in east Regina, near Superstore and Winners, the second location on Victoria Ave, very close to FreshAir Experience.

639 Victoria Ave. Source: Google Maps

I am so happy that I made it through my sick week, and still remained in KETOSIS. Thanks for reading….until next week.

6 thoughts on “KETO whilst sick…. is no laughing matter!

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling better. It’s awesome that you stuck to your guns and found something to help take your woes away. Thank you for the reminder that it is important to be critical and to ask questions!

    Like

  2. Way to go! Glad you are better. I just got an awesome cookbook from Costco. It is called “Yum and Yummer.” If you are at Costco this week you should check it out. The book has a tonne of delicious recipes and it has a recipe for bone broth! You may find some options for your KETO there:)

    Like

  3. Glad you are feeling better! I like the tip of asking questions to restaurants! I feel like many people eat out even if they think it is a healthy restaurant it may not be. It is amazing what information you can gain by just asking a few questions! Awesome job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

